Keta3’s Weblog


To Myself
September 8, 2008, 10:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

To Myself reminds me of thinking of someone who has died.  “Even when I forget you I go on looking for you.”  When that person leaves your life the pain recedes and the years proceed, but one day an object or a smell might spark your mind and make you think of that long gone person.  “I believe I would know you I keep remembering you sometimes long ago but then other times I am sure you were here a moment before and the air is still alive around where you were” In this excerpt from the poem I think the writer is saying that if that person were not dead and they came back today after being gone for twenty years that the writer would recognize that long last person and still know them and their appearance even thought they had aged.  The last part of the quote makes me again thinking that the writer saw something that reminded him/her about that deceased person and they experience de ja vu remembering past memories.  “and I think then I can recognize you who are always the same who pretend to be time but you are not time.”  Being dead in a way defies time, you no longer age, but your are also not necessarily time, the dead are governed by different rules.  “and who speak in the words but you are not what they say you who are not lost when I do not find you.  When you can’t find a dead person they are not lost, their soul is in a different place.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great response! Such an intriguing poem, isn’t it?

FC

Comment by Julie Meiklejohn




Leave a comment