Keta3’s Weblog


Blog #3 One Day I wrote her name
January 22, 2009, 3:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

One Day I wrote her Name

~

One day I wrote her name upon the strand,
But came the waves and washed it away:
Again I wrote it with a second hand,
But came the tide, and made my pains his prey.


Vain man, said she, that dost in vain assay
A mortal thing so to immortalize!
For I myself shall like to this decay,
And eek my name be wiped out likewise.
Not so (quoth I), let baser things devise
To die in dust, but you shall live by fame:
My verse your virtues rare shall eternize,
And in the heavens write your glorious name;
Where, whenas death shall all the world subdue,
Our love shall live, and later life renew.

 

This poem is made up of two stanzas.  The first stanza is only four lines long, but the second is ten.  That makes a grand total of fourteen lines.  Every line in the poem is capatilized.  The author uses commas, colins, periods, exclamation markes and parenthesis.  I can tell this poem is old by the words used.  Like quoth, whenas, dust.  I can tell the first two are really old because Word does not even recognize the words and thinks they are misspelled.  Other words I like are assay, decay, eternize, subdue and prey.  They really give the  poem an extra push that makes it really good in my opionion.  The poem does follow a rhyme scheme, it is, abab in the first stanza and ababababab.  The last two lines do not have two more lines to make them partner up like the first eight lines do.  This poem is a love poem, but I did not really realize that totally until the last line where it actually uses that word love, Close reading it a second time showed that there were many other clues to it being a love poem.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment