Keta3’s Weblog


blog #7 to a mouse robert burns
February 20, 2009, 11:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
Wee, sleekit, cowrin, tim'rous beastie,
O, what a panic's in thy breastie!
Thou need na start awa sae hasty,
Wi' bickering brattle!
I wad be laith to rin an' chase thee
Wi' murd'ring pattle!
 
I'm truly sorry man's dominion,
Has broken nature's social union,
An' justifies that ill opinion,
What makes thee startle
At me, thy poor, earth-born companion,
An' fellow-mortal!
 
I doubt na, whiles, but thou may thieve;
What then? poor beastie, thou maun live!
A daimen icker in a thrave
'S a sma' request;
I'll get a blessin wi' the lave,
An' never miss't!
 
Thy wee bit housie, too, in ruin!
It's silly wa's the win's are strewin!
An' naething, now, to big a new ane,
O' foggage green!
An' bleak December's winds ensuin,
Baith snell an' keen!
 
Thou saw the fields laid bare an' waste,
An' weary winter comin fast,
An' cozie here, beneath the blast,
Thou thought to dwell -
Till crash! the cruel coulter past
Out thro' thy cell.
 
That wee bit heap o' leaves an' stibble,
Has cost thee mony a weary nibble!
Now thou's turn'd out, for a' thy trouble,
But house or hald,
To thole the winter's sleety dribble,
An' cranreuch cauld!
 
But Mousie, thou art no thy lane,
In proving foresight may be vain;
The best-laid schemes o' mice an' men
Gang aft agley,
An' lea'e us nought but grief an' pain,
For promis'd joy!
 
Still thou art blest, compar'd wi' me;
The present only toucheth thee:
But och! I backward cast my e'e,
On prospects dreaer!
An' forward, tho' I canna see,
I guess an' fear!
 
Poem by Robert Burns
I picked to a mouse, because it sounded like a cute poem.  I was surprised when I read it because it is written in a scotish brouge.  It’s interesting to think that maybe the scotish write like this all the time like in normal writing?  But that would not make sense.  I cant remember the litereary technique but it’s when an ‘ is used instead of the vowel sound.  This technique is all over the place because of the scottish brouge it’s written in.  there are eight stanzas of six lines.  Masculine ryhme is present through out the poem.  Catalouging is used in the first line to describe the mouse.  The syntax is really old timy with words like thou and little beastie, who uses those words any more? The best-laid schemes o' mice an' men
This phrase is used a lot I’m not quite sure what it means, just maybe that even men can be brought down by a much simpler being.  Like a mouse.  Or the mouse could be a metaphore for the small things that muck up the plans.  Because usually a great plan is ruined by the smallest little thing.  I'm truly sorry man's dominion,

Has broken nature’s social union,this phrase makes me think of man taking over the world! And taking what used to be shared with nature in harmony.  Every year it seems that more and more animals get put on the endangered list, or that something else is going wrong with the Earth.  Then it all  points back to humans and how destructive we are.  I think it is very arrogant to say we can destroy the Earth, but I believe we can destroy life on Earth.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment